Yellow Flag

The Yellow Flag Programme is a practical 8 step programme that aims to support schools to bring issues of interculuralism, equality, and diversity into the whole school programme and apply them to the day to day running of the school. It works with students, staff, managment, parents and wider community groups, so that issues of diversity and equlity are not merely seen as "school subjects" but can be understood and taken ouside the school setting in to everyday life.

This is done through the development of eight practical steps:

1.Anti-Racism and intercultural awarness training for staff and managment.
2.Going beyong the school walls: Engaging with the community
3.The divresity committe
4.The intercultural Review
5.The action plan
6.Monitoring, Evaluation and information dissemination
7.Curriculum Work
8.The Diversity code and Anti-racism policy
Upon succesful completion of these steps, the school is awarded a Yellow Flag in recognition of its commitment to diversity. This programme is currently been co-ordinated by the IrishTraveller Movement.

Wicklow Travellers Group were awarded a grant from the ARDS committee of Wicklow County Council whichcontributed to the cost of running the Yellow Flag programme in Abbey Community College secondary school in Wicklow Town. Three members of Wicklow Travellers Group sat on the Diversity Committee (a student rep, a parent/ community rep)

In March 2011, the Diversity Committee organised an Intercultural Day in the school, which was enjoyed by all. There were displays of projects done by the students in the school, many of which represented the diverse cultures and traditions within the school population and other projects highlighted issues such as bullying, sexism, racism and discrimination. Also included were the results of questionaires which were carried out with students and parents

Some parents and students prepared a variety of  lovely food for people to sample with many traditional dishes from around the world.


At the end of the year the ITM Yellow Flag Committee visited the school and assessed the years work

 In May, the Abbey Community College and three other schools were presented with Yellow Flags at an Award Cermony in Dublin. This was hosted by RTE's 'elev8' presenter Diana Bunici and the Yellow Flag Coordinator Paula Madden attended by students, parents and community representatives. Brigid Quilligan, Assistant Director of ITM spoke about her school experiences as a Traveller and Michael D Higgins presented the Yellow Flags to the schools.


Since then the Abbey Community College and the De La Salle Schools in Wicklow Town have emalgamated to become Colaiste Chill Mhantain, new members have joined the Diversity Committee . The Yellow Flag was launched in the new school in March 2012 at the Intercultural Day in the school.


© 2012 Wicklow Travellers Group.. Website by Indytech.